Marriage Officiants

EFFECTIVE June 4, 2020

We are pleased to welcome visitors back to Washoe County and the State of Nevada as part of the Nevada Phase II reopening.

Marriage licenses are available by advanced appointment only.

Government-issued photo identification is required.
Masks are required to enter all Washoe County buildings.
Only the couple will be allowed to enter the building.
$60 fee payable by credit card only.
(no cash, checks or money orders)

CALL 784-7287 TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT.

All other in-person services and transactions suspended.

Ficititious Firm Names, Notary Bonds, and Marriage Officiant applications can be done through the mail. Forms and instructions are available on our website.

You may search our website for documents and records. If you are unable to find what you are looking for, please send us an email with details of your request to ClerkAdmin@washoecounty.us. We will respond as timely as possible.

We encourage you to visit the Washoe County Health District coronavirus webpage for live updates and information on how to protect yourself from viral illness.

(Ministers/Church-Religious Officials/Notary Publics)

Certificates of Permission to Perform Marriages

 New – Effective May 1st, 2019 – Background Check Fee $52

Prior to performing a marriage ceremony in the State of Nevada, authorization must be obtained from the County Clerk. The information below will assist you in determining the application process for the appropriate type of authorization depending on the circumstances.

Requirements

Chapter 122 of the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) governs marriage in the state.  According to NRS 122, you must be:

      (a)         A licensed, ordained, or appointed minister or other church or religious official in good
                   standing within your organization;

                   OR

      (b)         A Notary Public appointed by and in good standing with the Nevada Secretary of State.

Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 122

Senate Bill 419 – Enacted by 2013 Nevada Legislature - effective Oct. 1, 2013.

PLEASE NOTE: IT IS UNLAWFUL TO PERFORM MARRIAGES BEFORE YOU OBTAIN A CERTIFICATE OF PERMISSION

Application Process

Processing time for applications can take 2-3 weeks depending upon the type of application submitted and the results of the background check. 

  • The application fee is $30 (Cash, Credit Card, Money Order, Cashier’s Check, or Traveler's Check).
     
  • Background checks are required for the following types of applications and require payment of a $52 fee to the third-party vendor conducting the background check:
    1. Notary Publics (permanent only)
    2. Religious Officials (permanent only)
    3. Religious Officials (temporary replacements)
  • Faxed documents will not be accepted. Original documents are required.
     
  • To avoid any delays in processing, check to ensure that the documents are signed by the appropriate party and notarized.
     
  • If you are associated with the Catholic Church, please contact the Diocese of Reno before completing your Single Ceremony Application - 775 329-9274

Applications and Forms >>   

Frequently Asked Question >>

The Nevada Secretary of State maintains an on-line searchable database of Marriage Officiants authorized to perform marriages in the State of Nevada.  Nevada Marriage Officiant Search

If you are unable to locate a specific Marriage Officiant from Washoe County, please feel free to contact us at 775-784-7287.

Privacy Policy - Clerk's Office