Three Washoe County Commissioners take the Oath of Office
Commissioners Herman and Lucey join the Washoe County Board of Commissioners.

Media Release
For Immediate Release

Contact: Nancy Leuenhagen

Reno, Nevada. Jan. 5, 2015. At their first scheduled meeting of the new year, Judge David Hardy led Washoe County Commissioners Jeanne Herman, District 5, Bob Lucey, District 2, and Kitty Jung, District 3, through the Oath of Office.

The Board also unanimously elected their Chair and Vice Chair for 2015. Commissioner Marsha Berkbigler, who represents District 1, was elected Chair of the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) for a term of one year.

Commissioner Berkbigler was elected to the BCC in 2012 and has been a government affairs advocate for more than 20 years, representing a variety of businesses. She’s handled all aspects of government relations for mining, engineering, health care, insurance, telecommunications, and non-profit groups. She’s also managed a public and government relations department for a large corporation covering a multiple state market.

Commissioner Kitty Jung, who is currently serving her third term as a Washoe County Commissioner for District 3, was unanimously elected Vice Chair of the BCC for a term of one year.

As a Washoe County Commissioner, Jung considers public safety her number one priority. She is committed to ensuring that law enforcement and other public safety agencies have access to the resources they need to serve and protect our community. She also believes that responsible and sustainable development (economic, social, and environmental sustainability) is crucial in order to maintain and improve our quality of life here in Washoe County.

The following also took the Oath of Office: Chuck Allen-Washoe County Sheriff, Lawrence Burtness -Washoe County Recorder, Don Cavallo -Washoe County Public Administrator, Michael Clark - Washoe County Assessor, Tammi Davis- Washoe County Treasurer, Chris Hicks -Washoe County District Attorney, Hans Keller -Constable, Incline Village, Nancy Parent -Washoe County Clerk, Chris Wilson -Justice of the Peace, Sparks, Department 1.

Editor’s note: The following newly elected officials were also sworn in:

Sandra Ainsworth-Trustee, Sun Valley General Improvement District

Garth Elliott-Trustee, Sun Valley General Improvement District

Larry Johnson-Trustee, Palomino Valley General Improvement District

Susan Severt-Trustee, Sun Valley General Improvement District

The appointments of Commissioners to various boards and committees will be decided at a future Board meeting.

For more information about the Washoe County Commissioners and their photos, visit


Related Information
Call 311 to find resources, ask questions, and utilize Washoe County services. Learn More »
Call 311 to find resources, ask questions, and utilize Washoe County services. Learn More »