Self-Isolation & Quarantine
Updated as of July 23: The Centers for Disease Control & Prevention and the State updated recommended recovery strategy. See below for the latest.
The practice of self-isolation and quarantine helps protect the public and your family by preventing exposure to people who have or may have a contagious disease.
People who are diagnosed with COVID-19 (novel coronavirus) and have family members in the house where they are self-isolating must be in lock down for the duration of the illness with no contact to any individuals in the house until cleared by the Washoe County Health District. The Health District will conduct daily case monitoring for confirmed cases. Nevada Revised Statutes 441A requires the Health District to suppress and control any communicable disease. Violation of isolation and quarantine orders is punishable by law.
Those who were in contact with someone with COVID-19 and those who have traveled within the last 14 days to a place with community spread of COVID-19 are asked to self-isolate and avoid contact with anyone for 14 days.
This practice can be very disruptive to our daily lives but it is critical in helping contain the spread of COVID-19.
If you are asked to be in self-isolation for 14 days
It is common for most people to self-isolate in their home in these situations. If you have people who live in the house with you, there are guidelines in place to help avoid the potential spread of COVID-19 and keep others in the house safe.
The CDC has recommended precautions for household members, intimate partners, and caregivers in a nonhealthcare setting that offer full instructions on how self-isolate with others in your residence.
If you have COVID-19 - Recovery Strategy
The Washoe County Health District follows guidance from the State of Nevada and CDC on how to release people who have COVID-19 from self-isolation. We follow a non-test-based format, which is considered a time-since-illness-onset and time-since-recovery strategy.
Patients with mild to moderate illness who are not severely immunocompromised or persons with COVID-19 who have symptoms and were able to care for themselves at home may discontinue isolation under the following conditions:
- At least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared and
- At least 24 hours have passed since last fever without the use of fever-reducing medications and
- Symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of breath) have improved
Note: For patients who are not severely immunocompromised and who were asymptomatic throughout their infection, transmission-based precautions and home isolation may be discontinued when at least 10 days have passed since the date of their first positive viral diagnostic test.
Patients with severe to critical illnesses or who are severely immunocompromised:
• At least 20 days have passed since symptoms first appeared and
• At least 24 hours have passed since last fever without the use of fever-reducing medications and
• Symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of breath) have improved
Note: For severely immunocompromised patients who were asymptomatic throughout their infection, transmission-based precautions may be discontinued when at least 20 days have passed since the date of their first positive viral diagnostic test CDC Update published on July 22, 2020.
Helpful links from the CDC
Last modified on 08/30/2020